The Voca Rant

I’ve just got to get something off my chest.

Have you by chance gotten an email from a friend or family member that says, “You have to watch this!  They’re so amazing!”  and then you get this video?

It’s happened to me maybe 3-4 times over the last couple years.  And I don’t get it.  I’m not impressed.  Well . . . they certainly don’t suck at it.  It’s just that I’ve seen and heard tons of vocal groups that do this kind of stuff, do it just as good (or better), skip the really annoying theatrics, and not dress up like condoms.  You realize that’s what the costumes are for, right?  It’s to distract you from the mediocrity.  Sure, they might give some explanation like, “It’s to make all of us blank slates so only the voices are important.”  But come on.  When you watch that video are you focused on just the voices?  You noticed the red lips, right?  What the heck.  (Note: I didn’t take that quote from anywhere.  I made it up based off of an educated assumption.)

Nowadays with the rise in popularity of that show “The Sing-Off,” this kind of a capella vocal performance is getting a little more mainstream exposure than it usually gets.  Certainly the most since Rockapella was topping the charts back in the early 90’s.  I’ve seen some clips, and it’s impressive.  There are some really talented vocal groups doing some really cool stuff–and none of them dressed up like condoms wearing lipstick.

Just sayin’.

Ending note:  This rant came out of something I wrote in response to when my 1st cousin once removed Jacki posted it on Facebook.  I was probably a bit harsh in that comment, and she seemed upset that I was harsh.  So–sorry Jacki.

Leave a Reply

