My self-indulgent, 30th birthday post.

I’m 30 today.  I scheduled this post to publish at 4:05 p.m. CDT so that it’s 100% official before anyone reads it.  The fact that this day was coming has thoroughly freaked me out for the last 365 days, but now that it’s here, I’m very excited.  I have 10 whole years ahead of me to call “my thirties,” and as of this moment they’re all unwritten.  As Joe Dirt says, “life is a garden; dig it.”

I’ve done some thinking on what would be the best way to do a 30th birthday post.  After a lot of back and forth, I have settled on one that doesn’t get too boring (to me), doesn’t get too long, and is just self-indulgent enough.  Now, without further ado, I present . . .

30 Useless Facts About Braden!

Readysetgo!

  1. My right thumb’s lunula has had a notch in it since I smashed it in a door 16 years ago.
  2. I’ve tried pot once.  One hit.  Age 14.  Behind the bowling alley.  Strike n’ Spare East, if you know the place.  Never tried it again.
  3. I was born with my right foot smashed against my shin, and had to wear a cast for the first few weeks of my life.
  4. I got my first F in 4th grade English.
  5. I got straight A’s for my third quarter of 8th grade, then got all A’s and a C for the fourth.  The C was in math.
  6. I had my first cigarette in summer 1993.
  7. I had my last cigarette in winter 2003.
  8. When I was a freshmen in high school, I got in-house suspension for one day for smoking on school grounds.
  9. My 13th birthday present was an old electric typewriter.
  10. I’ve never cared for The Thundercats.
  11. Among my most prized possessions at age 5 was my red, zipper-covered, Michael Jackson-style jacket.
  12. I shamelessly watched cartoons until I was 11 years old.
  13. I shamefully watched cartoons from age 12 to 14.
  14. I was arrested in January 1998 at the Wal-Mart in Sullivan, Missouri for shoplifting.  Except I wasn’t actually shoplifting.
  15. By my best estimates, I have played the first Final Fantasy all the way through at least 20 times.
  16. I’ve lived in 14 different buildings.
  17. Few things fascinate me more than the passage of time.  This is much to my wife’s annoyance.
  18. The first song I ever learned to play on guitar was “The Sound of Silence.”
  19. The boldest thing I ever did in school was in 7th grade when I dumped purple juice over the head of some kid that purposely got ketchup on my white cake at lunch.  “I like my white cake,” I told him after I poured.
  20. I’ve had 13 roommates.  I’d still drop almost anything to hang out with 12 of them.
  21. I cheated on an algebra final my senior year of high school.
  22. My first wearable facial hair was my sideburns.
  23. I clearly remember thinking half-way through Kindergarten, “Man, I sure had it good before I started school!”
  24. I’ve never dyed my hair; I never will.
  25. I don’t have a guilty pleasure because I’m never ashamed to admit I like something.
  26. My favorite characters in stories are usually the wise old men.
  27. With the exception of some western that I saw with my dad around age 4 or so, the first movie I saw in the theater was Honey I Shrunk The Kids.  The trailers were for Milo & Otis and Dick Tracy.
  28. The first comic book I ever owned as Ghost Rider #24.
  29. I had a 9 o’clock bedtime until I graduated high school.
  30. After my parents took away my punk rock CD’s when I was 16, I would sneak into their room when they weren’t home, take them back, and dub them to tape.

Well that was fun.  Now . . . on to my 30’s!

2 responses to “My self-indulgent, 30th birthday post.

  1. Love your 30 facts! I bet you like hanging out with us since Al is a wise guy (fact #26)! I am so glad you were born and look forward to all your blogs in your 30’s!!

    To your garden of life…. I can dig it,he can dig it, she can dig it, we can dig it, they can dig it, oh let’s dig it, can you dig it baby!!? :o)

Leave a Reply

