Mortgage Days – introduction.

I like to tell stories.  Some of the best, and most readily available, stories are ones from the work place.   I’ve really been lacking a good audience for mine, though, since up until two months ago I worked in mortgage.  As any other workplace, it was filled with its crappy managers and bosses, stupid customers, and mind-boggling coworkers.  However, the circumstances that allow those qualifiers to be present get lost on many people because there’s so much industry babble that gets involved.  I end up spending so much time explaining what means what that the story disappears and the conversation becomes a lesson in Mortgage 101.

On the other hand, though, I have the desire to blog more often (both because I enjoy it and because I wish to improve my writing skills, as it is, at my core, one of my two passions; I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’m a bit wordy and I’d like to correct that).  So at this moment I am making it official that I will do a certain number of blogs in a row that are those lovely, blow-your-mind, oh em gee people are ridiculous kind of work stories from my three years at my last employer.  I’ve already told several from Steak ‘n Shake, one from RentACenter, and at least one from my days at Kohls, along with mentions of my days at McDonald’s.

So let’s pick a number of entries to do.  I would like a good challenge–something to force me to be concise and clever–while at the same time not stretch the idea so far that even I can’t stand it.

How about five?  Yes.  I will pull out five stories from my mortgage days that deal with the most over-the-top, ridiculous, crazy, money grubbing people you couldn’t begin to imagine.  This should be fun.

Leave a Reply

