15 things I like about unemployment.

In no particular order.

1) I get to play guitar.  A lot.

2) I’ve had the opportunity to “remember” that the world still exists from 8-5 on weekdays, and it’s pretty awesome.

3) You know that whole thing about being joyful in times of trouble because you get to see God take care of you?  Yeah, that’s happened.

4) Showers are so much more enjoyable when I’m awake for them and know what I’m doing and don’t forget if I’ve washed my face yet or forget to rinse the conditioner out of my hair.

5) I’m verging on the threshold of “never needing to aimlessly wander the internet again” because I’ve done it so much.  The thought of doing that now is becoming very close to the thought of eating cheese curls, and I haven’t done that since 1st grade.

6) The odd thing about looking for work is how broad ones possibilities seem, so right now the whole world is open to me.  Grad school?  Corporate ladder?  Teaching English?  Music career?  Work from home and make $900 a week like this 22-year-old college student?  Stay tuned and find out!

7) I’m not wearing out my good pants and shirts and getting lunch stains on them.  Actually, I’ve spent a good deal of my weekdays not wearing pants at all.

8 ) By having the chance to get chores and errands over with before Dona comes home, I get to spend more time with her.  We have an afternoon coffee tradition now. (awww)

9) Oh, yeah–I like coffee again.

10) People tell me they can see that I’m working out.  I can’t really see it, but that’s how it goes.

11) I have been downtown more in the last month than I think I have in the last year.  Which is fun; I love the city.  When one’s job keeps them in Bellevue or Renton all day, the downtown experience is usually kept to only I-5, and is hindered by slow traffic.

12) I get into a made bed almost every night.

13) Seriously, this coffee is GOOD!

14) Someone’s actually doing the dishes at home, now.  Maybe they should also clean the bathroom.

15) Every now and then, I stop to think about how there is a strong chance that I will never work in the mortgage business ever again.  That’s nice.

Leave a Reply

