Insurance is stupid.

So on my way to work this morning, I was heading up Market St. and some moron darted out in front of me, and I hit my breaks but still slid into the back, right corner of his car. It was a gen-u-ine fender-bender. And I immediately memorize the license plate, which was a good thing because right then the dude took off. But the details of this morning’s accident are not what I want to bore you with.

This whole thing has got me thinking about car insurance again. What a bunch of sleaze bags. I’m required by law to have car insurance, so I pay so much a month for the piece of mind that if something happens I’m taken care of, but then when that time comes the companies do nothing but try to weasel their way out of paying. They try to find some kind of fact of the situation that would exempt them. They play cheapo with estimates. It really ticks me off.

I will estimate that in the nearly 10 years that I’ve been an insured motorist, paying my own bill, that I’ve paid to State Farm, on average, $100 a month. It’s probably more than that because I was up around $1200-1500 per six months my first few years. And that was with discounts. But we’ll shoot low for effect. That means I have paid at least $12,000 into their pockets. And what did they do when I totaled my Concorde last fall? They tried to tell me it was worth $3500. When I debated that and showed them the exact same car for sale with comparable mileage that was going for $7500, they go, “Oops! Yeah, our bad! Here’s $6500.”

I know that car insurance isn’t a bank account. I know that it’s possible to pay hundreds of thousands of dollars over a lifetime for car insurance and never get a cent back if it’s not needed. But I’m paying for piece of mind. I don’t mind paying that money for practically nothing in exchange if they won’t debate and low-ball me when I ask them to come through. This accident this morning, assuming that they don’t catch this guy or if they do but he doesn’t have insurance, will be covered by my insurance as a collision, which means a $1000 deductible. Why such a high deductible? Because life is expensive and I’m poor. It’s not covered under “Uninsured Motorist.” But for the life of me I cannot figure out why. Maybe U.M. is only bodily injury, but even that doesn’t make sense. What if I was injured in an accident that I caused? What part of my insurance covers that? If that part of my policy doesn’t kick in in the event that the other dude caused it but I get hurt, then why is it different for my car?

I guess I should look at the bright side. At least I’m not hurt. Who am I kidding? I couldn’t care less about that bright side. I’m not hurt so it’s irrelevant.

Leave a Reply

