Man at work.

Last week, the guy who does background checks for newly applying loan officers to my company quit. All of his responsibilities passed to me, which effectively doubled my work load. They will not be hiring a replacement for him. And, no, I didn’t get a raise, but let’s put that to the side for now. Because of the amount of tasks that I have to do, and how 40 hours a week is not enough to do them in (but that’s all they’re gonna get), I have been concentrating a lot harder on my work and spending significantly less time chatting on IM or walking around the office. To help keep me focused, I listen to my iPod shuffle nearly all day, too, which further closes me off from the rest of the office. I’m actually a little more satisfied with my job because my sense of accomplishment is increased, and the days go by faster because I have enough work to fill it from 8:30 to 5. Also, since I’m doing the background checks, I’m the go-to guy for new applicants from start to finish, and while that’s a lot of responsibility, I prefer it because I always know what’s going on with whom and what.

Well . . . now everyone is constantly checking in on me because they think something has gone horribly wrong in my life. If Braden’s not chatting away, then something must be bringing him down. I guess that’s a fair interpretation, since I am a chatty guy, but I’m not down. I’m doing fine. But leave me alone, I’ve got work to do. But saying that comes off as rude. So I can try saying nothing, but that’s rude too, or it concerns them even more because, “Oh! It’s so bad he doesn’t want to talk about it! Poor Braden! Open up to us!” Has anyone in this office gotten to know me in the last 18 months? If something is up with me, I won’t shut up about it! Don’t worry, because you’ll know! And if it WAS so bad that I wouldn’t talk about it, why would you keep pushing? It’s none of your business.

Leave a Reply

