Stick a fork in me.

My last blog was about what was going on in my life eight years ago. Where I’m at now is very different than where I was, and I couldn’t have begun to guess that I’d end up where I’m at. And I couldn’t be happier about it. I’ve spent many a quiet drive or monotonous task thinking through events in my life that seemed insignificant in their time but have indirectly led me to where I am now. I usually have a couple that I like to cite, one being my Geo Storm breaking down in late December 2001. Another is indirectly putting the responsibility on my parents, buying me that TV for Christmas in 1999. I’ve also taken it farther back, such as getting impatient and just guessing through the last 10 questions on my math placement test for Lincoln Land Community College. Or even farther back, like at the beginning of my senior year of high school when I put a screen-printed MxPx patch on my bookbag. I even just wrote this entire blog about how me taking Jennifer Burke to her Junior Prom in the spring of 2000 was the biggest factor, but I deleted it. Turns out it wasn’t. Then I decided it was all these events. I wrote a timeline, spelling out how each event led to the next, but that got too long and was a bit too self-indulgent, even for me. Besides, by the time I reached January 2003 I realized something. The ultimate forked road in my life happened almost exactly 5 years ago, on January 26, 2003, when I was sitting in my 1995 Mazada Lemon in the parking lot of the Vine(yard). I was deciding to go inside the building to the Super Bowl Party, or to start the car and go to my cousin’s party instead, on the other side of town. I knew that the one I chose was going to determine the direction of the rest of my life. I didn’t know how different my life would be, but I knew it was important.

I guess this means that when my friends point out at each Super Bowl that it’s my “anniversary” (which no one did this year, but it’s perfectly okay; I didn’t remember, either), they speak more truth than they realize.

Oh, and by the way, the Buccaneers beat the Raiders in that game, 48-21. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

